Calls and Vacancies

Updated May 28, 2024

Changes and additions from the past week highlighted in bold.



  • Rev. Jacob Heine, Faith, Topeka to Trinity, Monroe, LA – pending
  • Rev. Brendon Moore, Grace, Winter Haven, FL to Ascension, Wichita (associate) – pending
  • Rev. Iromar Schreiber, Hope, Republic, MO to St. Paul, Leavenworth (associate) – pending
  • Rev. Erik Sorenson, St. Peter, Columbus, IN to Risen Savior, Basehor (associate) – pending


Candidate Trey Doak (CLTS, St. Catharines, Canada) to Immanuel, Hoxie & Immanuel, Oakley (sole) – ordination / installation pending

Candidate Matthew Goltl (CSL) to Risen Savior, Wichita (associate) – ordination / installation Sunday, June 23, 2024

Candidate Joseph Goodroad (CTSFW) to Grace, Iola (sole) – installation Saturday, July 20, 2024, at 10:30 a.m.

Rev. Randy Jahnke, Holy Cross, Dodge City to Bethlehem, Greenleaf & St. Peter’s, Barnes – accepted, installation Sunday, June 30, 2024

SMP Vicar Frank Johnson to Zion, Hillsboro – ordination / installation Sunday, July 14, 2024

Candidate John Kastner (CTSFW) to Beautiful Savior, Olathe (associate) – ordination / installation Sunday, July 21, 2024

SMP Vicar Jeff Lane to Faith, Topeka – ordination / installation Sunday, August 11, 2024, at 3:30 p.m.

Rev. Anthony Masinelli, Grace, Sandy, UT to St. Paul’s, Cheney – accepted, installation Saturday, June 15, 2024, at 3:00 p.m.

Rev. Jacob Mueller, Holy Cross, Emma, MO to Hope, Shawnee – accepted, installation Sunday, June 2, 2024, 2:30 p.m. at Hope, Shawnee

Candidate Nathan Nelson (CSL) to Trinity, Leavenworth (associate) – ordination / installation Sunday, July 14, 2024

Rev. Sherman Stenson, Austin, TX to Zion, Downs – accepted, installation pending

Candidate Christopher Warneke (CTSFW) to Redeemer, Arkansas City (sole) & Trinity, Winfield (assisting capacity) – ordination / installation Sunday, July 7, 2024, at 3:30 p.m.


  • Vicar Jacob Harding (CSL) – Zion, Linn
  • Vicar Josiah Sandcork (CSL) – Beautiful Savior, Olathe
  • Deaconess intern Lara McComack (CSL) – Calvary, Topeka
  • Deaconess intern Carolyn Ferguson (CTSFW) – Immanuel, Wichita


  • Basehor, Risen Savior (associate)
  • Clay Center, St. Paul (associate)
  • Hays, Messiah (sole)
  • Leavenworth, St. Paul (associate)
  • Medicine Lodge, Trinity & Nashville, St. John (sole)
  • Wichita, Ascension (associate)
  • Wichita, St. Andrews (sole)


  • Fairmount Ministries (Commissioned Minister)
  • Independence, Zion (EC Teacher)
  • Leavenworth, St. Paul (Teacher)
  • Marysville, Good Shepherd Association (Kindergarten Teacher)


  • Principal David Birnbaum, First, Ponca City, OK to Trinity, Atchison – accepted, installation Sunday, August 4, 2024
  • Sarah Eckhoff, Hope, Shawnee to Martin Luther Academy, Kansas City, MO – pending
  • Deaconess Candidate Claire Gerrard (CTSFW) to Trinity, Garden City – commissioning and installation pending
  • Amy Goltl, Immanuel, Olivette, MO to Holy Cross, Wichita – accepted, installation Sunday, August 11, 2024
  • Deaconess Candidate Ashley Nelson (CSL) to Leavenworth, St. Paul – commissioning and installation Sunday, July 14, 2024

Pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest.

Luke 10:2b

Two CSL pastoral candidates were called, one deaconess candidate, two vicars and one deaconess intern were assigned to the Kansas District.

Three CTSFW candidates were called, and one deaconess intern was assigned to the Kansas District. From left: President Justin Panzer, John Kastner (associate pastor-elect, Beautiful Savior, Olathe), Beatrice Kastner, Joseph Goodroad (pastor-elect, Grace, Iola), Olivia Goodroad, Christopher Warneke (pastor-elect, Redeemer, Arkansas City, and assisting capacity pastor-elect, Trinity, Winfield) and Sarah Warneke. Not pictured: CTSFW deaconess intern Carolyn Ferguson (Immanuel, Wichita); Deaconess candidate Claire Gerrard (Trinity, Garden City), and CLTS, St. Catharines pastoral candidate Trey Doak (Immanuel, Hoxie & Immanuel, Oakley).

Candidate calls from Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne (CTSFW) and Concordia Seminary, St. Louis (CSL): Trey Doak (CLTS, St. Catharines) pastor-elect to Immanuel Lutheran Church, Hoxie & Immanuel Lutheran Church, Oakley; Deaconess candidate Claire Gerrard (CTSFW) to Trinity, Garden City; Matthew Goltl (CSL) associate pastor-elect to Risen Savior Lutheran Church, Wichita; Joseph Goodroad (CTSFW) pastor-elect to Grace Lutheran Church, Iola; John Kastner (CTSFW) associate pastor-elect to Beautiful Savior Lutheran Church, Olathe; Deaconess candidate Ashley Nelson (CSL) to St. Paul Lutheran Church and School, Leavenworth; Nathan Nelson (CSL) associate pastor-elect to Trinity Lutheran Church, Leavenworth; and Christopher Warneke (CTSFW) pastor-elect to Redeemer Lutheran Church, Arkansas City and assisting capacity pastor-elect to Trinity Lutheran Church, Winfield.

Vicarage and intern assignments from Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne (CTSFW) and Concordia Seminary, St. Louis (CSL): Vicar Jacob Harding (CSL) to Zion Lutheran Church, Linn; Vicar Josiah Sandcork (CSL) to Beautiful Savior Lutheran Church, Olathe; Deaconess intern Lara McComack (CSL) to Calvary Lutheran Church, Topeka; and Deaconess intern Carolyn Ferguson (CTSFW) to Immanuel Lutheran Church, Wichita.

Photos were taken during April 2024 Call Day, courtesy of CSL and CTSFW.